## **University Faculty Committee Volunteer Form**

If you would like to be considered for a University Faculty committee vacancy, the Faculty Senate Steering Committee would like to know of your interest. **Please indicate your 1<sup>st</sup>, 2<sup>nd</sup>, and 3<sup>rd</sup> choices.** It will be assumed that you would be willing to serve, if elected, on any of the committees so marked by virtue of your signature. Please keep in mind that most committees will have about two vacancies available each year and most are for three-year terms. There are several constraints to keep in mind:

- Membership is restricted to voting members of the faculty.
- There is a conscious effort to limit the number of elected committees to one per faculty member. Thus, you should not already be serving on a committee with a term through 2008-2009.
- You should not be on sabbatical or leave during your term on a committee.
- No committee member may serve two consecutive terms on the same committee.

See the Faculty Manual at http://www.sc.edu/policies/facman/fmhome.html for committee descriptions.

## LIST OF COMMITTEES: USC-COLUMBIA (Indicate choices 1, 2, and 3)

(RESP) Academic Responsibility (ADMIS) Admissions	(WELFA) Faculty Welfare (HONOR) Honorary Degrees
(ATHLE) Athletics Advisory	(INDEV) Instructional Development
(BOOK) Bookstores	(INTEL) Intellectual Property
(CC) Curricula and Courses	(LIBR) Libraries
(ADVIS) Faculty Advisory	(SSP) Scholastic Standards and Petitions
(BUDG) Faculty Budget	(TEN) Tenure Review Board
(GRIEV) Faculty Grievance*	(DISB) Disability Affairs (2-year term)
(UCTP) Tenure and Promotions**	(RHAB) Russell House Advisory Board

\* To serve on Faculty Grievance you must be a tenured full professor or a tenured librarian. \*\* To serve on University Committee on Tenure and Promotions you must be a tenured full professor.

Name (Print):	Date:	
Signature:	College/Dept:	
Tenured: Yes No Rank:	Years at USC:	
Will you be a <i>Faculty Senator</i> during the 2007-2008 academic year?		
List any other Faculty Senate committee assignments you will have during 2008-2009:		
Email address:		

Please return to: Faculty Senate Office, McCutchen House **by December 19, 2007.**